On July 1, 2014, the first phase of California’s minimum wage increase will go into effect, and the wage will rise from the current $8 per hour to $9. Then, in January 2016, the minimum wage will go to $10 per hour.
Posts Tagged CaliforniaHR
Store cashiers spend a lot of time on their feet while operating cash registers. Bank tellers also stand for long periods, cashing checks and handling other transactions. Are employers required to provide these workers with seats?
As of now, the answer is unclear. For that reason, the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals is seeking clarification from the California Supreme Court. The federal appeals court is trying to determine employers’ precise obligations in these types of circumstances.
By Philip L. Gordon, Zoe M. Argento ©Littler Mendelson
Premiums for employer-provided health coverage in California have risen 185 percent since 2002—more than five times the state's overall inflation rate—according to a new report by the nonprofit California HealthCare Foundation.
SHRM’s Metro Economic Outlook reports provide comprehensive analyses of the economies of the largest metropolitan areas in the United States. Click below for reports on the following California metro areas:
The California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) is taking aim at employers for wage theft. In the latest example of the division’s aggressive stance, it claimed Little Lopez Corporation, a janitorial services provider, owed wages to 41 current and former employees and, following an investigation, has issued citations to the company totaling $332,675.
Now that a bill expanding California’s Paid Family Leave program has been enacted, employers should review their leave policies and be prepared for many questions from workers, according to employment attorneys.
Legal and regulatory changes—more than new laws—are driving the need for company policy adjustments, revised plan documents and updated employee handbooks for 2013 by U.S. employers.
Effective January 2013, two new California laws will broaden what constitutes discrimination based on an employee’s sex or religion. Practices that may have been lawful for 2012 could now create liability and litigation for 2013.
Amendments to the California Labor Code impose new wage reporting requirements on “temporary services employers” and allow all employees to recover statutory penalties for violations, even where they suffer no actual loss in wages as a result of a deficiency in a wage statement.