SHRM Certification Commission


We are making great progress on the development of the HR profession’s new competency-based certification, and we are excited for the January 5, 2015 launch. We have some new information to share with you. Today we are announcing the members of theSHRM Certification Commission, an advisory group for SHRM’s certification.

The SHRM Certification Commission, an independent technical advisory committee, is composed of eleven national leaders in the HR field. The Commission oversees the SHRM Certification program—including development and administration of the exams, eligibility criteria and recertification requirements.

The commission will work closely with SHRM to make certain that the SHRM-CP and SHRM-SCP become the new standard for certification in the HR profession. They will ensure that it is a highly relevant certification that meets the changing needs of business.

The commission will be chaired by an individual many of you already know: Dr. Wayne Cascio, distinguished university professor and the Robert H. Reynolds chair in global leadership at the University of Colorado-Denver School of Business.

Other commission members are:

  • John Boudreau, Ph.D., professor of management and organization, Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California, and research director, the Center for Effective Organizations;
  • Trent Burner, vice president, global organizational effectiveness, Wal-Mart Stores Inc.;
  • Jeff Lindeman, senior director, talent and engagement, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority;
  • Betty Lonis, vice president, human resources, Navient;
  • Santrupt Misra, Ph.D.,  director, group human resources, Aditya Birla Group (India);
  • James Outtz, Ph.D., president, Outtz and Associates;
  • Susan Podlogar, vice president, human resources, Johnson & Johnson;
  • Richard Vosburgh, Ph.D., president,  RMV Solutions, and vice chair, HR People & Strategy (HRPS) Board of Directors;
  • Tim Young, director, field human resources, AutoZone Inc.;
  • Sheldon Zedeck, Ph.D., professor emeritus of psychology, University of California-Berkeley.

Members of the commission are appointed by the SHRM Board of Directors to three-year terms that will be initially staggered to maintain continuity.

I am extremely impressed by the individuals who are serving on this Commission, because they represent the best in HR practice and academics. They understand the knowledge, skills and abilities needed to succeed as an HR professional today.

The news release and the story can be found on the SHRM website. For more information about SHRM’s new certification, visit





The SHRM Blog does not accept solicitation for guest posts.

Add new comment

Please enter the text you see in the image below: