California Minimum Wage Bill Stalls in Legislature
Christopher W. Olmsted is a shareholder in the San Diego office of Ogletree Deakins Republished with permission. © 2014 Ogletree Deakins. All rights reserved.
- Member for
- 8 years 8 months
Articles by Christopher Olmsted
Calif.: Sick Pay Mandate Is Here
Calif.: Tips for Lawfully Hiring Teenagers for Summer Jobs
Mere weeks before sick pay becomes mandatory in California, the state legislature is racing to cure what is ailing employers. Beginning on July 1, 2015, the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 (HWHFA) will obligate employers in California to offer sick pay to employees in nearly every category. The minimum obligation is to provide sick pay at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked or a lump sum allocation of three days or 24 hours per year.
10 Tips to Comply with Upcoming Sick Pay Mandate
California’s Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) has published a poster and wage notice for employers to use in compliance with Assembly Bill (AB) 1522, California’s new mandatory sick pay law.
On Sept. 10, 2014, Gov. Jerry Brown signed the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014. The act requires California employers to provide employees with one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked starting on July 1, 2015. The act also required the DLSE to create a poster and updated wage notice for employees.
San Diego’s hotly contested minimum wage ordinance has been put on ice until at least 2016. The City Council approved the ordinance in July and then later overrode the mayor’s veto. A petition drive by San Diego business leaders has now succeeded in forcing the issue to the ballot.
Rejecting a call to place a proposed minimum wage hike on the November ballot as a referendum item, on July 14,2014, the San Diego City Council approved an ordinance raising the city’s minimum wage to $11.50 per hour by 2017.
The wage increase will be phased in over a three-year period. In January 2015, the minimum wage will increase to $9.75; in January 2016 it will increase to $10.50; and in January 2017 it will increase to $11.50. Thereafter, the minimum wage will increase on an annual basis as determined by a Consumer Price Index.